- Police Department
- Police Department Links
- Illegal Fireworks
With the Fourth of July approaching, the Police Department are once again beginning to see an increase in the number of fireworks related phone calls. Each year, in all communities, the holiday is used as a justification for the discharge of illegal fireworks. Each year, the Port Hueneme Police Department receives hundreds of complaints regarding illegal fireworks on July 4th, and the days leading to the Fourth of July. The fine for possession, sales, and setting off illegal fireworks starts at $1,000 and may result in arrest. Help us out by talking to your neighbors and sharing this message with family and friends.
You can email your complaints regarding illegal fireworks to: firstname.lastname@example.org or by calling 805-986-6539. Your information will remain confidential.
- News Release from the Chief of Police (PDF) (June 27, 2018)
- PSA video
Port Hueneme City Ordinance
5141 - Definitions
The following words and phrases as used in this Part shall be defined as follows:
- "Dangerous Fireworks" shall be defined as set forth in Section 12503 of the Health and Safety Code of the State.
- "Fireworks" shall be defined as set forth in Section 12502 of the said Health and Safety Code of the State.
5142 - Fireworks prohibited
- Except as authorized by the fire chief in accordance with the currently adopted California Fire Code, no person shall sell, offer to sell, use or have in his or her possession within the city any fireworks or dangerous fireworks.
- Except as authorized by the fire chief in accordance with the currently adopted California Fire Code, no property owner or tenant shall allow or permit the sale, offer to sell, use or possession of fireworks on their property when the property owner or tenant knows or should know of the sale, offer to sell, use or possession of fireworks at the property.
5143 - Penalties
- $250 for the first violation, if the involved fireworks are classified as "safe and sane." Safe and sane fireworks are defined by California Health and Safety Code section 12529 as any fireworks that have not been classified as "dangerous" or "exempt." These fireworks typically comply with California's fireworks laws, unless prohibited by local ordinances.
- $500 for the second violation within twelve (12) months of the first violation.
- $1,000 for each subsequent violation within twelve (12) months of the first violation.
- $1,000 per offense related to "dangerous fireworks," as defined by Health and Safety Code Section 12505. In general, dangerous fireworks are those that "explode, skip, fly, travel, or dart."